National Honor Societies

Membership Selection Requirements & Induction Ceremony

The National FL Societies set forth their requirements for membership: a 90 or better in the induction year, an overall GPA of 80 or better and the promise of service to others in the form of tutoring.

All members must sign the Pelham Memorial HS Student Agreement for Participation in Athletics & Co-Curricular Activities.

Students become eligible to be inducted in levels IV and/or V based on the average of their first two quarter grades.

Our first induction was in 2007. 



General Information on Societies

Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

Sponsored by: The American Association of Teachers of Spanish & Portuguese.

The AATSP was formally organized in 1953 as the Spanish National Honor Society. Its purpose is to recognize high student achievement in Spanish and Portuguese and to promote a continuity of interest in Hispanic Studies. 


Société Honoraire de Français

Sponsored by: The American Association of Teachers of French

The AATF was founded in 1927 to serve French teachers at all levels, from elementary school to graduate school. The organization helps promote the study of French and the cultures of French speaking countries.


Società Onoraria Italica

Sponsored by : The American Association of Teachers of Italian

The purpose of this organization is to stimulate interest in the study of Italian, to give recognition to scholarship achievement in Italian and to promote an understanding and appreciation of Italian culture and civilization.


The Pelham Memorial High School Latin Honor Society

Sponsored by: The National Junior Classical League

Formed in 1936, the National Junior Classical League (NJCL) is an organization of junior and senior high school students sponsored by the American Classical League.  Composed of Local and state/provincial chapters across the United States, Canada and Australia, it is the largest Classical organization in the world today with over 50,000 members.  Its purpose is to encourage an interest in and an appreciation of the language, literature and culture of ancient Greece and Rome and to impart an understanding of the debt of our own culture to that of Classical antiquity.  




On Thursday, April 4th, the World Language Department held it's thirteenth Honor Society Induction.  Congratulations to our wonderful inductees, their parents and teachers.  A total of 104 outstanding students were inducted during this joyous event!  The induction featured a keynote address by PMHS Graduate Kate Wessman (‘09) who spoke about her love for studying language and how it has shaped her life after graduating high school.

Kate Wessman


The following students deserve special congratulations on having been inducted in two language national honor societies by having achieved a 90% average or better in the upper levels:

Matyas Spunberg – Spanish & French 2019

Kristina Pompilio – Latin 2018 & Spanish 2019


Please see below for lists of inductees:

The Pelham Memorial High School Chapter of the Société Honoraire de Français

Albert Ai, Grace Anderson, Isabelle Anderson, Jessica Cunha, Guy Eustace, Lucas Fredbeck, Lukas Glist, Kathleen Heaney, Oliver Krulak, Isabella Mylonas,  Emily Nakayama, Silda Neza, Madison Popovic, Emma Potter, Siobhan Sadler, Matyas Spunberg, Stephen Tahbaz, Sophie Xu, Peri Zale


The Vittorio Emanuele Chapter of the Società Onoraria Italica

Giuliana Bertolotti, Adam Bukowski, Alyssa-Lynn Catalanotto, Elizabeth Comerford, Maria Comerford, Grayce Cooper, Luke DeVivo, Julianna Estatico, Dylan Giglio, Ava Juliano, Griffin Kingsley, Dylan Nordstrom, Justin O’Beirne, Allison Palmisciano, Bernadette Russo, Joshua Timmermans, Cassie Ventura, Charlotte Woods     


The Federico Garcia Lorca Chapter of the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

Vedika Basavatia, Lance Brady, Ellianna Bryan, James Carey,  Luca Capeci, Lily Childs, Alexis Cornachio, Andrew Cruz, Nicholas Cruz, Aidan D’Amore, Jordan Davis, Joshua Davis, Frank DelPonte, Kayleigh DiNatale, Philip Dulock, Edward Dunhill, Stephanie Elmer, Anna Esteverena, Athul George, Amadeo Gjasta, Henry Gutch, Sean Holley, Gabriela Hood, Charlotte Howard, Connor Kagel, Nicole Kelly, Bhakti Kulkarni,  Ian Kuster, Asher Lal, Anna Larsen, Emma Lauria, Michael Li, Nicholas Lieggi, Cole Mackool, Juan Carlos Matos, Morgan McLean, Helen Meyerson, Joshua Miller, Olivia Min, Quinlan Monaghan-Morris, Brandon Mory, Stephanie Munn, Julia O’Neil, Maeve Parmelee, Ajdin Pelinkovic, Sam Plunkett, Kristina Pompilio, Elizabeth Potocki, Juliana Prisco, Andrew Radvany, Ana Ramirez, Andrew Rella, Matthew Reynolds, Julia Rosenberg, Morgan Sample, Luke Sgobbo, Anna Shampanier-Bowen, Andrew Shulzhenko, Matyas Spunberg, Daniel Tahbaz, Helena White, Caroline Winston


National Junior Classical League Latin Honor Society

Rachel Elmer, Taylor Goche, Grace Liberatore, John Morrell, Arthur O’Sullivan, Catherine Taubner